Top of Fawwara

Back

Top of Fawwara

The stretch of land between Siġġiewi, Rabat and Ħad-Dingli is known as "Tal-Fawwara". This land hosts a spring (in Maltese, Fawwara) which in the past was known for the large ammount of water it supplied. The area is naturally very beautiful and picturesque.

This area is also known for its vast history with origins dating back from the times when the Arabs controlled Malta in the thirteen century. Stories told describe the death of many Christian women under the Commander Ali Sid. Commander Ali Sid was one of the last Arab commanders that the Normans had left in command after they took over the islands.

Fawwara is host to two chapels. One of the chapels in Fawwara is dedicated to Our Lady of Mount Carmel. It was built in 1616 and it was administered for a long time by the confraternity of Our Lady of Charity whose headquarters are the church of St Paul in Valletta. Another chapel in Fawwara is that of Our Lady of Providence in the limits of Siggiewi where in 1575 there was a medieval village called Hal-Kbir.